Restructuring, Restoring, Recovering, Reinstalling, Rebooting, Reformatting, Rebuilding, and a spoon.

So a while back, I got for my 18th birthday an external hard drive, something I’d been wanting for a looooooong time.
It was 1TB, on USB2.0, and was by HITACHI.
The enclosure was like an upside-down T, and was very awkward during travel.
Nevertheless, at the time, it had served me well. I was quite very thankful for it.
Perhaps right away I began using it as an archive, for my anime, music, manga, games, and other such things.
But this didn’t last, sadly…
My HITACHI was met with an unfortunate accident.
It fell from my desk, and came crashing to the floor, never to store another episode again.
I was anger distraught.
But life went.
Some time later (when I got that money last year) I decided one of the first things I’d buy would be a new external hard drive.
Looking through the Amazon Rain Forest the Amazonian Fallopian Tubes Amazon.com for the best space/price deal, I eventually came upon this.
At the time, it was the best I could get. I see now the price of it has dropped and there is a 3TB of the same line availible now… *sigh*.
*adds to wishlist*
Anyway, with my new Seagate Expansion drive, I immediately set out rebuilding my collections, and it wasn’t long before I’d improved upon them quite a large amount.
Aaaand then I began to get my first ever computer viruses.
The first was one that pretended to be a very generically titled (and very annoying) antivirus program. I’d been using the ext hdd as a backup device as well.
Unfortunately, the backup program I’d used did not back up my Program Files or Program Files (x86) folders, and I thus lost many logs and game data.
(This led to the Windcrest Recovery (something I may or may not discuss at a later date) and also my embarkment to remake my 1cc’s of SA and IN, remake my MoF pseudo-1cc (which I did, and later 1cc’d for real), and remake my lag-1cc of EoSD.)
After fixing this, I somehow derp’d and set the permissions for one of my computers to No Permission, for anything, in any way, for any user.
The computer was running Win7HP, so this was impossible to fix, so I had to wipe it,… again. Yeaaaaaaah.
Anyway, then later I got a real virus on my other laptop that caused it to bluescreen upon opening of explorer.exe, or whenever the hell it wanted.
Somehow I managed to survive this one by using Safemode+Command Prompt, executing Task Manager from Command Prompt, and using Task Manager’s sub-explorer in the New Task>Browse window, and within it .rar’ing up files and transferring them to the ext hdd.
It was arduous and long but was quite effective I must say. Much more so than relying on a backup program.
…And then sometime later, the worst happened.
I’ve always wanted all my stuff to be accessible across all my devices.
Big Business has been trying to pin this down for a while now, but in my case it’s been a real challenge.
This file isn’t compatible with the Xbox, the Wii doesn’t have the latest Flash, I don’t have enough disk space, I don’t have an archive to put it all on…
Stuff like that.
I did some research on how I could get my external harddrive to be readable by the XBox 360, and I found out the drive needs to be a FAT32 file system.
Well, the harddrive was an NTFS, so I made a FAT32 partition on it, stuck some music on it, and plugged it into the Xbox.
…It didn’t work.
So I decided “Ok, I’ll have the Xbox format it for use with the XBox then.”
This was a significantly a far stupider derp than the time with the permissions, as it was not until it was finished formatting that I had realized that “formatting” means THE WHOLE UNIT, NOT THE PARTITION I HAD MADE.
Thus… everything was lost.
All the anime, music, games, backups, and etc that I’d had saved on that hard drive was gone…

Aaaaaand here I am now.
I’ve been reconstructing the collections from scratch to the best of my ability since then.
As of this post, I have already vastly improved open the previous collections, and in quite a fraction of the time, I must say.
BakaBT probably hates me though…

Anyway, I actually didn’t make this post to chronograph my computer derpage, but rather to announce I’m going to be adding an inventory of the collections to my blog.
More details on this will be available when I’ve got the the page up.

Leave a comment